English KLA Stages 4 & 5

The English program, at Cleveland Street Intensive English High School, aims to give students the skills for their future success.This is success in our students’ future lives and future learning.
Student success in life and learning
Learning English is very important
All our students come from countries where English is NOT the main language. So all our students are New Arrival students. Learning English, then, is of great importance to our students and their parents and communities. Thus, when students enroll at Cleveland Street Intensive English High School, they do more periods of English than any other subject.
In New South Wales schools the subject English is called English Key learning Area (English KLA). The English Key Learning Area (KLA) builds essential English language and cultural "building blocks" for all students. When students master these language "blocks", they can use them to "build" successful English communication.

New South Wales (NSW) High Schools divide students into three stages.

• Stage 4 is Years 7 and 8 (12 — 14 year olds);

• Stage 5 is Years 9 & 10 (14-16 year olds);

• Stage 6 (16 — 18 year olds).


Stage 4 = Years 7 & 8
Stage 5 = Years 9 & 10
Stage 6 = Years 11 & 12


Outcomes for different Stages


All subjects (KLAs) have syllabuses that are the curriculum framework for all teaching in that subject. These documents identify Outcomes for Stage 4, Stage 5, and Stage 6 students.

To "build" skills in English students need the language and cultural Outcomes in the English KLA syllabus. So, we refer to these KLA Outcomes when we program, choose resources, and develop activities for students.

The diagram below shows the 11 Outcome "blocks" in the English KLA syllabus for Stage 4 students.
Figure 1. English KLA Building Blocks Stage 4  
1. Responds to & composes Texts 2. A range of processes to respond to & compose texts 3. Technology 4. Language forms & features, & structures
5. Language choices to shape meaning 6. Draw on experience, information & ideas to imaginatively & interpretively respond to & compose texts 7. Think critically & interpretively about information, ideas & arguments to respond to & compose texts 8. Make connections between and among texts
9. Express views of their broadening world and their relationships within it 10. Identify, consider, & appreciate cultural expression in text. 11. Use, reflect on, and assess individual and collaborative skills for leaning  
Significantly, English KLA Outcomes have been developed for students who have been speaking English all their lives. Obviously, at Cleveland Street Intensive English High School, our students have not been speaking English all their lives. So we have selected appropriate English skills and knowledge descriptors from Stages 4 and 5 of the English KLA Syllabus for our ESL/English programs.
We have selected appropriate English skills & knowledge
We have selected appropriate English skills & knowledge
Stages 1 to 3 of the primary school English Outcomes are focussed on text types, and the reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking skills all our students need. So, we have also identified appropriate Outcomes and descriptors Stages 1 to 3 of the English KLA Syllabus. The building blocks of this curriculum
The diagram below shows the Outcomes "blocks" in the English KLA syllabus for Stage 1, 2 and 3 students.
Figure 2. English KLA Building Blocks Stages 1- 3  

Talking and Listening:

Talking & Listening; Skills & Strategies; Context & Text; Language Structures & Features.


Reading & Viewing Texts; Skills & Strategies; Context & Text; Language Structures & Features.


Producing texts; Grammar & Punctuation; Spelling; Context & Text; Language Structures & Features.


Another highly significant document for New Arrivals students is the Intensive English Program Framework Document (IEP Curriculum Framework). It has been developed specifically for New Arrival students. As with all KLAs in the school, English KLA uses the IEP Curriculum Framework to:

• program

• assess student progress

• report on student progress.


IEPCurriculim Framework
Three levels:




The IEP Curriculum Framework identifies English language learning Outcomes for new Arrival students at four levels:

• Preliminary — students with no/slight previous English experience
• Intermediate — students after 10 — 20 weeks at the school, or less if they have had good prior English instruction
• Transition — students after 20 - 30 weeks at the school, or less if they have had substantial prior English instruction.
IEP curriculum framework is built around "Text Types". These are different ways of structuring English speaking or writing for particular purposes. The Text Types "building blocks" are illustrated in the diagram below
Text Types for particular purposes
Figure 3: Text Type building blocks in the IEP Curriculum Framework
Orientation to Learning Simple Request Simple Transaction
Personal Opinion Listen for simple detail Recount
Description Information Report Procedure Narrative
Reading Behaviours Explanation Poetry Review Exposition
Discussion Formatted Texts

Within each Text Type we provide the essential modelling (examples) and scaffolding (pointers for how students have to speak, write and read. Text Types enable us to accelerate English language acquisition needed for further study at students’ Link Schools. These are the schools students go to after leaving our High School.

When we assess and report on, student progress in English we use the ESL Scales. The diagram below outlines the four areas of English language acquisition that are targeted in the ESL Scales.

ESL Sales: 4 Areas
Figure 4. ESL Scales  

Communication: How students interact with and communicate in English

Language & Cultural Understanding: Australian society and culture

Language Structures and Features: English Syntax and Grammar

Strategies: How Students go about Acquiring and using English
8 ESL Scales Levels


The English program integrates the four areas in the ESL Scales. We enrich our English programs by cross-referencing the IEP Curriculum Framework to the ESL Scales.

There are 8 levels of English acquisition described in The ESL Scales. Level 1 is beginner level. Level 8 is near native proficiency level.

Students at Cleveland Street Intensive English High School mostly start at ESL Scales Level 1 and exit at ESL Scales Levels 3 (and sometimes Level 4).

Reports on students’ ESL Scales level are sent to their Link High Schools or TAFE. There students get additional ESL assistance from the ESL teacher/s to help them further with their English.


To sum up, our English program at Cleveland Street Intensive English Centre is specifically focussed on students. Our aim is maximise their life chances in Australia, an English speaking country. Our aim is improve students’:

• language needs

• understanding of the Australian culture

• ability to relate well socially.

Our English program is outcomes-based. We adapt our teaching to meet the needs of students. Our English program is integrated with current syllabus documents and directives. The specific focus of our English program is the needs of our students.

Maximise life chances

map | Links